What happens when you trust the Universe?

It’s often hard to let go isn’t it? I mean, we all want to have control over what’s going on in our lives. But what happens if we consider “going with the flow” instead? Will we just drift aimlessly and lose focus on the task in hand? Or could it be that letting go and being open to a world of new possibilities, even for a short time, could manifest into something amazing?

After reading, or should I say devouring (I couldn’t put it down!) a book called The Surrender Experiment recently whilst on holiday, I decided to, just for a while, let go and see what might manifest. I certainly wasn’t expecting the outcome, and was left with a feeling of “how did I get here?” whilst flying above Grand Cayman in a private plane on 15th January.

So, how did I get here? The Universe does indeed work in mysterious ways. On arrival in the Cayman Islands, I was handed a magazine which outlined all the attractions that I might like to visit whilst there. Flicking through, I noticed an ad for a bioluminescent tour – seeing the natural aquatic phenomenon by kayak. Thinking that it looked interesting, but somewhat preoccupied with getting to my destination, I put the mag aside for another day.

Later in the week, I looked again at the magazine, and decided to call about the bioluminescent tour. I was informed that tonight was the last night they were running it for several weeks, and they had just one place left. Without hesitation I booked. Arriving at the site just before 9pm, it was busy, and two guides were needed. People had booked either as couples or groups of 4. I was the only solo, which meant I paired with one of the guides. I happened to be paired with David who was not only very informative about the phenomenon of bioluminescence, but also about the constellations which were clearly visible due to the very low levels of light pollution.

Towards the end of the tour I was chatting to David about various things, including the book I had just read, and he seemed keen to read it too. He was into philosophy and had led an interesting life thus far, so I mentioned that I felt the need to grab the kayak opportunity since it was the last one before I left the island. I also told him that I was, on this trip at least, saying yes to all the opportunities which came my way. With this revelation, he mentioned that his father had a 4-seater plane and would be happy to take me up in it for a tour of the island by air – and would I like to say yes to that opportunity too? No need to ask me twice… Now, on a kayak tour, what were the chances that I would have one of my business cards on me? But I did. So I gave it to David, who did indeed pass it on to his father.

So just before 10am on the last Friday of my Cayman trip, I found myself 500 feet up, seeing the island by air, for free, with a man who I had literally just met because I happened to be in a kayak with his son. Breaking it all down, I remembered the ad for the kayak tour. They had one place left, that very evening – a day later and I would never have done it. I could have been paired with either one of the guides, but I was paired with David. And his dad had a plane, and I had a business card. Now of course you might say what did I miss out on by not pairing with the other guide? Who knows, but could it have been any better than this?

 

About Max Tuck

Hippocrates Health Educator. Long term living foods vegan. Athlete, lecturer, author of four books (with the 5th coming soon) and firm advocate of healthy living.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

